Ref NoNG5437
Alt Ref NoNG5437
Artist or CreatorNicholas Garland
Title or Caption'Enlargement' sweeps the Oscars
Extent1 item
Published byDaily Telegraph
Date22 Mar 1994
Size42 x 30cm
Embedded text or transcriptSpecial Award Best European
Best Supporting Actor
Best Farce
Best Producer
Best Director
Least Supporting Actor
Person DepictedHeath; Edward (1916-2005)
Hurd; Douglas
Major; John (1943-)
Portillo; Michael (1953-)
NotesCartoon not dated, date estimate made by subject. News: The Oscar Awards ceremony was held in Hollywood on Monday 21st March 1994. Steven Spielbergs 'Schindlers List' won 7 of the 12 Oscars for which it was nominated. News ; Douglas Hurd was trapped last night between Tory dissent and European exasperation as he fought to avoid damaging confrontation over Britains voting strength in Brussels. The prospect of a deadlock at tomorrows meeting of European foreign ministers grew as officials sought to resolve the dispute over the number of votes needed to block European legislation. The Foreign Secretary faced pressure from Tory backbenchers to stand firm against European Ministers. He issued a warning, however, that there would be uproar in the European Parliament if Britain rejects a new voting structure. Mr Hurd is urgently seeking a solution which will unite foreign ministers while also pacifying Tory Euro-sceptics angered at any dissolution of Britains voting rights. In the face of growing resentment over Britains position, Michael Portillo, Chief Secretary to the Treasury insisted yesterday that the government was "standing up for Britain". [Arthur Leathley and Geprge Brock, The Times, 21st March 1994]
European Union
Conservative Party
Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs
prime ministers
Chief Secretary to the Treasury
Copyright contact
Relates to cartoonNG5437

Show related Persons records.

GB/BCA/755Heath; Edward (1916-2005)1916-2005   
GB/BCA/2075Hurd; Douglas   
GB/BCA/2367Major; John (1943-)1943-   
GB/BCA/2369Portillo; Michael (1953-)1953-   
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2019